Friday, August 28, 2009

4th Annual John D. Mineck DBC Junior Cup September 5-6 at Boston Golf Club

The fourth Annual John D. Mineck DBC Junior Cup is slated for September 5-6 at the Boston Golf Club in Hingham in conjunction with the Deutsche Bank Championship. This prestigious event is named in honor of it's co-founder and also co-owner of Boston Golf Club, the late John Mineck who passed away in 2007. John was a tireless contributor to local junior golf. With 36 of the nation's top junior golfers, ages 11-18, competing in a Ryder Cup Format - Team USA vs. Team New England, this event promises to be chock full of talent and excitement! Last year Team USA beat Team New England 43 - 29! Representing Team USA will be a group of the nation’s top junior golfers, hailing from 12 different states and two Caribbean islands and is captained by Steve Feinstein. Team USA includes 14 boys and four girls: Cameron Andrade of Atlanta, Ga.; Todd Berglund of Pittsburgh, Pa.; Maxime Blandin of Schoelvher, Martinique; Patrick Cansfield of Port Huron, Mich.; Eric Hallberg of Castle Rock, Colo.; Chipper Hughes of Ponte Vedra, Fla.; Hank Lebioda of Winter Spring, Fla.; Matthew Mabrey of Little Rock, Ark.; Ian Mankoff of Lake Forest, Ill.; Francesco Ruffino of Bloomfield Village, Mich.; Scott Smyers of Lakeland, Fla.; Clancy Waugh of Garden City, N.Y.; Jack Williams of Garden City, N.Y.; Joe Winslow of Overland Park, Kan.; Cindy Ha of Demarest, N.J.; Ali Prazak of St.Thomas, Virgin Islands; Bryce Schroeder of Pinehurst, N.C. and Courtney Boe of Blufton, S.C. Team New England, captained by Dave Adamoinis Jr. (who BTW is also the Executive Director of the United States Challenge Cup Junior Golf Foundation) is represented by the cream of the crop in New England Junior golf and includes 14 boys and four girls: Ben Balter of Wayland, MA; Chelso Barrett of Keene, N.H.; Andrew Fiorenzano of Jamestown, R.I.; Danny Guise of Greenwich, Ct.; Chris Houston of Gilford, N.H.; Nick McLaughlin of New Castle, N.H.; Andy Mai of Suffield, Ct.; Chris Melvin of Medfield, MA; Evan Russell of Essex Junction, Vt.; Damon Salo of New Ipswich, N.H; Joe Toland of White River Junction, Vt.; Nick Torrance of East Lyme, Ct.; Noah Walker of Norwell, MA; Cameron Wilson of Rowayton, Ct.; Megan Khang of Rockland, MA; Mia Landegren of Bridgewater, Ct.; Nicole Scola of Westerly, R.I. and Isabel Southard of Sharon, MA. Tee times will begin at 8 a.m. each day, with play concluding at 1 p.m. on September 6th. An awards presentation will follow the conclusion of play, and the winning team will be recognized that evening during the Deutsche Bank Championship Sunday Celebration Barbecue at TPC Boston in Norton, MA.

No comments: