Wednesday, May 22, 2013

USGA Adopts Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf


USGA video explaining the new Rule
 
May 21, 2013 ~ The United States Golf Association and The R&A, golf’s governing bodies, have announced the adoption of Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf which prohibits anchoring the club when making a stroke. The new Rule will take effect on January 1, 2016, in accordance with the regular four-year cycle for changes to the Rules of Golf.  This rule does not change equipment rules aka one can still use a long putter.

Proposed on November 28, 2012, this rule has now been given final approval by the USGA and The R&A following an extensive review by both organizations. The decision to adopt the new Rule came after a comprehensive process in which comments and suggestions from across the golf community were collected and thoroughly considered.   The PGA Tour Player Advisory Council and Policy Board is still engaging in discussions and will announce a decision upon the completion of their process.  For more info go to www.usga.org/rules/Understanding-Rule-14-1b
 

No comments: